Economics Department prizes, 2019-20

The Economics Department is proud to announce the recipients of prizes for the 2018-19 academic year. Wilde Prize: In honor of Mr. Frazar B. Wilde, Chairman Emeritus of the Connecticut General Life Insurance Company (died 1985), who throughout his professional career was keenly interested in not only the highest standards of responsible professionalism in business, but … Read more

Linda Mascaro wins Cardinal Achievement award

  Linda Mascaro received a Cardinal Achievement Award from the University for her outstanding work as the Economics Department’s Administrative Assistant.  Economics faculty and students have long recognized that the department would not run without Linda; however, this year posed exceptional challenges, which she met with her customary grace and efficiency.  During our two job … Read more

Kuenzel wins Carol Baker ’81 Memorial Prize

David Kuenzel and Joslyn Barnhardt Trager, from the Government Department, have been awarded Wesleyan’s Carol A. Baker ’81 Memorial prize. The Carol Baker ’81 Memorial Prize was established in the Public Affairs Center in 1987 for the development and recognition of the accomplishments of junior faculty.  It is awarded annually by the Dean of the … Read more

ECON student athletes recognized for prowess on and off the field

The Economics Department is proud of our student-athletes who have been recognized by being named to New England Small College Athletic Conference’s Fall 2018 All-Academic team. To be honored, an individual must have reached sophomore academic standing, and be in good standing in their sport with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.50 … Read more

Yohe in Stockholm, Huffington Post

  Gary Yohe, the Huffington Foundation Professor of Economics and Environmental Studies, attended the 2018 Nobel Week in Stockholm, Sweden, Dec. 7–11, as a guest of William Nordhaus, the Yale University professor of economics who received this year’s Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel. Nordhaus was recognized for his work “integrating climate change into … Read more

20 students inducted into ODE

Twenty students and Wesleyan’s newest assistant professor, Gillian Brunet, were inducted in to the Wesleyan chapter of the Omicron Delta Epsilon (ODE) Economics honor society on November 28 in PAC 001.  The student inductees are: Nicole Rachel Brodkowitz, Aaron Cheung, Rusheng Duan, Allegra T. Fils-Aime, Madelyn Rose   Fried, Michael James Gallo, Eric Anthony Gooden, Eunes Miah Harun, Qingyang (Heropeia) Hu, Min Jang, Rachel C Kantor, Avi Lipton, Gillian … Read more