2018-19 Lebergott-Lovell prize announcement

The Wesleyan Economics department is pleased to announce the winner of the 2018-19 Lebergott-Lovell prize.

The department awards this prize for the best paper written for a course in the academic year that uses empirical techniques to analyze an economic problem and is named in honor of the late Stanley Lebergott and Michael Lovell, who were both Chester D. Hubbard Professor of Economics and Social Science at Wesleyan.  It was generously endowed by Prof. Bruce Greenwald of Columbia University.

Faculty members nominated five papers for consideration by the committee (Profs. Karl Boulware, Abigail Hornstein, and Anthony Keats).

The 2018-19 winner is Kaitlyn Thomas-Franz ’20 for a paper entitled “The 1918 Influenza Epidemic and US Female Labor Force Participation,” which was submitted to Gillian Brunet’s American macroeconomic policy course in the spring semester.

The committee awarded runner-up prizes to Qiyuan Zheng ’20 for a paper entitled “FPI in Emerging Markets: Does the Equity Home Bias Theory Extend?” which was submitted to Anthony Keats’s spring section of econometrics, and Dominic Oliver ’20 for a paper titled “The Determinants of Zoning Regulation,” submitted to Gillian Brunet’s American macroeconomic policy course.

Congratulations to this year’s prize winner and our runners-up, and many thanks to all the students who wrote such interesting papers!